Param Vir Chakra Award List

The Param Vir Chakra Award is India’s highest military decoration, awarded for displaying distinguished acts of valour during wartime. Param Vir Chakra translates as the “Greatest of the Ultimate Brave”, and the award is granted for “most conspicuous bravery in the presence of the enemy”.

History of The Param Vir Chakra Award

The Param Vir Chakra Award was introduced in January 1950, with a retrospective effect from 15 August 1947. It is crafted from bronze and holds the possibility of being awarded posthumously. The Param Vir Chakra holds an equivalent status to the Victoria Cross in the United Kingdom and the Medal of Honor in the United States.

You can download the Param Vir Chakra Award Winner List in PDF format at the top in this page.

Major Somnath Sharma4th Battalion, Kumaon Regiment3 Nov, 1947, Posthumous
Second Lieutenant Rama Raghoba RaneBombay Engineers08-Apr-1948
Naik Jadu Nath Singh1st Battalion, Rajput Regiment6 February, 1948, Posthumous
Company Havildar Major Piru Singh Shekhawat6th Battalion, Rajputana Rifles18 July, 1948, Posthumous
Lance Naik Karam SinghSikh Regiment13-Oct-1948
Captain Gurbachan Singh Salaria3/1 Gorkha Rifles05-Dec-1961
Major Dhan Singh Thapa1st Battalion, 8th Gorkha Rifles21-Oct-1962
Subedar Joginder Singh1st Battalion, Sikh Regiment23-Oct-1962, Posthumous
Major Shaitan Singh13th Battalion, Kumaon Regiment18 November, 1962,Posthumous
Company Quarter Master Havildar Abdul Hamid4th Battalion, The Grenadiers10-Sep-1965, Posthumous
Lieutenant-Colonel Ardeshir Burzorji Tarapore17th Poona Horse11-Sep-1965, Posthumous
Lance Naik Albert Ekka14th Battalion, Brigade of the Guards4-Dec-1971, Posthumous
Flying Officer Nirmal Jit Singh SekhonNo.18 Squadron, Indian Air Force14 December, 1971, Posthumous
2/Lieutenant Arun Khetarpal17 Poona Horse16-Dec-1971, Posthumous
Major Hoshiar Singh3rd Battalion, The Grenadiers Regiment17-Dec-1971
Naib Subedar Bana SinghJammu and Kashmir Light Infantry23-May-87
Major Ramaswamy Parameshwaran8th Battalion, Mahar Regiment25-Nov-1987, Posthumous
Captain Manoj Kumar Pandey1st Battalion, 11th Gorkha Rifles3 July, 1999, Posthumous
Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yadav18th Battalion, The Grenadiers04-Jul-1999
Rifleman Sanjay Kumar13th Battalion, J&K Rifles04-Jul-1999
Captain Vikram Batra13th Battalion, J&K Rifles07-Jul-1999

Download PDF

Leave a Comment